WDC Public Schools

A Great Place to Learn and Grow!

218.632.2155 * Fax: 218.632.2399 * 600 Colfax Ave SW Wadena MN 56482

School Board Meeting Info

The Wadena-Deer Creek School Board typically meets on the third Monday of each month in the Robertson Theatre in the Wadena-Deer Creek Middle/High School. However, if there is a legal holiday on a Monday, the meetings are held on the following Tuesday (January and February). Meetings are open to the public and begin at 6 p.m.

The six members of the School Board have been elected to four-year terms of office. All board members must be residents of the Wadena-Deer Creek School District, be eligible voters and be at least 21 years of age. The annual election is the Tuesday following the first Monday in November.

The Board approved the following meeting schedule for 2019 (NOTE TIME CHANGE):

*Meetings are in the Robertson Theatre unless otherwise noted.

January 22 Tuesday - 5:30 pm

February 19 Tuesday - 5:30 pm

March 18 Monday - 5:30 pm

April 15 Monday - 5:30 pm

May 20 Monday - 5:30 pm

June 10 Monday - 5:30 pm Deer Creek School

July 8 Monday - 5:30 pm

August 19 Monday - 5:30 pm

September 16 Monday - 5:30 pm Bluffton Community Center

October 21 Monday - 5:30 pm

November 25 Monday - 5:30 pm

December 16 Monday - 5:30 pm Truth in Taxation Hearing

WDC School Board

Kent Schmidt, Chair

(218) 631-3019


Schmidt was elected to the Board in 2012. His term ends 12/31/2020. 


Jil Fiemeyer, Vice Chair

(218) 430-0292


In 2014, Fiemeyer was elected to the Board. Her term expires 12/31/2018.


Dan Lawson, Clerk

(218) 631-7206


In 2016, Lawson was elected to the Board. His term expires 12/31/2020.


Vince Hinojos, Treasurer

(218) 631-1365


In 2016, Hinojos was elected to the Board. His term expires 12/31/2020. 


Wayne Perkins, Director

(218) 462-2764


Perkins was elected to the Board in 2006. His term ends 12/31/2018.


Ann Pate, Director

(218) 631-1365


Pate was elected to the board in 2002. Her term will expire 12/31/2018. 


Lee Westrum, Superintendent

(218) 632-2176


Supt. Westrum has served as WDC's superintendent since July 2013.